APMA 2024 Annual Scientific Meeting (The National) Abstract Competition Winners

APMA is pleased to announce the winners of the APMA 2024 Annual Scientific Meeting Abstract Competition.

The six categories of awards are as follows:

 Outstanding Oral Abstract Presentation: The top three oral abstract presentations as selected by a panel of judges appointed by the Education Committee:

First place: Functional Comparison of Controversial Levels of Midfoot Amputation Relative to the Below-Knee Amputation: Does Length Preservation Always Equate to Function?—**Craig J. Verdin, DPM,** will receive \$500

Second place: Guillotine Transmetatarsal Amputations with Staged Closure Promote Early Ambulation and Limb Salvage in Patients with Advanced Chronic Limb-Threatening Ischemia—**Brian D. Lepow, DPM** will receive \$250

Co-authors: Jeffrey A. Ross, DPM, MD Alejandro Zulbaran-Rojas, MD

Third place tie: Interpositional Arthroplasty of the Fourth and Fifth Tarsometatarsal Joint with an Autologous Gastrocnemius Aponeurosis Graft: A Surgical Technique Guide and Case Series—**Madison Leyk, DPM,** will receive \$100

Co-author:

Scott F. Jorgensen, DPM

Third place tie: Effects of Bunion Surgery on Fall Risk: A Nationwide Database Study of 127,990 Older Adults with Hallux Valgus—**Neveen Abuali, DPM**, will receive \$100

Co-authors:

Adam E. Fleischer, DPM, MPH

Rachel H. Albright, DPM, MPH Lowell S. Weil Jr., DPM, MBA Erin E. Klein, DPM, MS Dyane E. Tower, DPM, MPH, MS, CAE Zalak Bhatt

2. **Outstanding Poster Abstract** (Single Case or Small Case Study/Series): The top three poster abstracts as selected by a panel of judges appointed by the Education Meeting Committee:

First place: Healing Pedal Fissures: SkinIntegra Versus Urea-40 Cream—Rebecca A. Moellmer, DPM, will receive \$500

Co-authors: Chandler P. Hubbard, DPM Faiza Zahid, DPM Reina Deogracias, DPM Abigail Ross

Second place: Prophylactic Sural Neurectomy with a Closed End Conduit Following Calcaneal Fractures: A Retrospective Case Study—**Gayana H.** Wanniarachchi, DPM, will receive \$250

Co-authors: Roshni Patel, DPM Brandon R. Gumbiner, DPM

Third place: Staged Surgical Treatment and Management for Chronic Charcot Arthropathy with Patient-Specific Custom Implant: A Novel Technique—**Sriya S. Babu, DPM,** will receive \$100

Co-author: Patrick R. Burns, DPM 3. **Outstanding Poster Abstract** (Large Case Study/Series): The top three poster abstracts as selected by a panel of judges appointed by the Education Meeting Committee:

First place: Correlation Between Hemoglobin A1c and Outcomes of Elective Foot and Ankle Surgery—Jennifer A. Skolnik, DPM, will receive \$500

Co-authors: Nour Nassour, MD Nicole Sciotti Mohammad Shigri Shauna-Kay Rhooms

Second place: The Treatment of Charcot Neuroarthropathy Deformities with Flipper Foot and Ankle Arthrodesis Technique—**Jeffrey D. Loveland, DPM,** will receive \$250

Co-authors: Aaron Mates, MD Brandon Denton, MBA

Third place: The Effect of Provider Type on Fall Risk in Older Adults with Foot Pain and Disability—**Rachel H. Albright, DPM, MPH,** will receive \$100

Co-authors:
Adam E. Fleischer, DPM, MPH
Tarlan Sharifi
Regan Bond, DPM
Dyane E. Tower, DPM, MPH, MS, CAE

4. **Outstanding Poster Abstract** (Resident): The top three poster abstracts as selected by a panel of judges appointed by the Education Meeting Committee:

First place: Utilization of Pinch Grafts for Wound Closure: A Case Study—Shalvi Prasad, DPM, will receive \$500

Co-authors: Haywan Chiu, DPM

Second place: Salvage of Traumatic Degloving Digital Injury Using Medicinal Leeches for Venous Congestion: A Case Report —**Alisha P. Joshi, DPM,** will receive \$250

Co-authors: Krishna Trambadia, DPM Mirielle Blanchette, DPM

Third place: Twin Spires: Dual Intramedullary Nail Fixation for the Treatment of Distal Tibia and Fibula Fractures—**Benjamin C. McManus, DPM, MBA**, will receive \$100

Co-author: Blake E. Pritchett, DPM Thomas S. Poynter, DPM, David Seligson, MD

5. **Outstanding Poster Abstract** (Student): The top three poster abstracts as selected by a panel of judges appointed by the Education Meeting Committee:

First place: Polymicrobial Biofilms in Terbinafine-Resistant Onychomycosis— **Akashpreet S. Riar**, will receive \$500

Co-authors: Ramesh Seepersaud Parmita Basu, PhD Anthony R. Iorio, DPM, MPH

Second place: Potential Fall Risk of Control Ankle Motion Walker: A Balance Analysis—**Tina Javanbakht, MPH,** will receive \$250

Co-authors: Abdulla M. Ismail Chia-Ding Shih, DPM, MPH, MA **Third place Tie:** The Oblique Watermann Osteotomy for Joint Preservation in End-Stage Hallux Rigidus—**Jack S. Arp** will receive \$100

Co-authors:

Noora Hussain, MS Ashna Thaker, MS Aimen Khurram Katherine Roush Austin Wheatley Annika Waller Eric A. Arp, DPM

Third place Tie: An Anomaly of the Pes Anserinus and its Implications on Foot and Ankle Pathologies: A Case Study Using Cadaveric Dissection—**Samreen Mushtaheed** will receive \$100

Co-authors: Stephanie Belovich, PhD Ian Farnkopf, PhD Kathy J. Siesel, DPM

6. Outstanding American Public Health Association (APHA) Foot and Ankle Health Section Student Poster Abstract and Arthur B. Helfand, DPM Award winner as selected by a panel of judges appointed by the Education Meeting Committee:

Preoperative Patient Expectations for Hallux Valgus Surgery—Jack S. Arp, will receive \$250 and the Arthur B. Helfand, DPM Award

Co-authors:

Rachel H. Albright, DPM, MPH Erin E. Klein, DPM, MS Zalak Bhatt Lowell S. Weil Jr., DPM, MBA Meghan Longacre, PhD Adam E. Fleischer, DPM, MPH